Home Forums Dinosaur Related Discussions Dinosaur/J News & Discussions Why Does Lou Not Get Another Rickenbacker?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    spongebob
    Participant

Wasn’t quite sure which forum to put this in, but…

I know that Lou’s old 4001 was stolen a few years back, but does anyone know why he hasn’t used a 4001/03 since?

When I saw them last Summer, he was playing the Mike Dirnt signature bass…..can’t say I’m a big fan of those…

I’m a bassist, and firmly a Ric player – partially due to Lou in the first place!

I’m just curious as to why he’s not played one (as far as I’m aware) since. I think with his style, it’s such a part of the Dino sound…and we all know that J loves his bassists to play a Ric…

Any thoughts?

goodguyalso
    Participant

According to Lou. He hasn’t found another he likes.
    He says Rics are temperamental. He discussed this on his forum.

tonas

I asked Lou that at a show (a few years back) and he said he thought Fenders sounded better, so he’s sticking with em’.

Matthoney
    Participant

http://loobie.anthocore.com/index.php/topic,1009.0.html

This is a thread about it; but if you don’t want to read it all I’ll give a couple quick Lou quotes:

"stolen ..other ricks i tried suck..it’s that simple..even the 4001, though it had a distinctive sound, lacked dynamics..
    any quality ricks i saw were in 3-4k range.. i was too heartbroken and too skeptical to just buy a replacement and assume it would work.. new ricks are mediocre at best.. buying one offa e-bay is not an option..
    if i’m feeling rich i’d love to buy another one and maybe put precision style pick ups in it.. in my opinion most of the rick fetish comes from the look of the instrument..very few of them are really great..my 4001 was great but it’s gone ..i opted for consistency over aesthetics.. the fender has better low end, hi end ..sustain etc.. it lacks the mid range growl but so do alot of ricks…