Home Forums Musicians & D.I.Y. Artists Guitar Room Sophie..and others

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author

Randy Jane
    Participant

I felt that I would end Malcoms torture of people putting the wrong things in his threads….. :roll:

Ok, as far as Gibsons being overrated….some are. Ive played a few Gibsons, and I’ll have to say…more than half of them blew. Shop around and try to find one you like, remember this one thing throughout your life: It doesnt matter what other people say about your gear. You CANT please everyone! Only shop around for what YOU want. If you buy a guitar because J Mascis has one and its his favorite guitar…..you might hate the thing. Brands are really for looks….go for something that is in your price range…feels good, and plays good….THEN you can think about looks. If you are going to go for an acoustic electric….that is great, Ive played some nice ones, (Ive been playing for almost ten years now…..I play EVERY guitar that I can get my hands on). Im not going to sit here and sell you on brands, Im just here to inform you of that one rule to remember. If you have ANY questions about gear….just ask, I or someone else on here will be glad to help you. Obviously, some brands ARE better than others…for instance, Fender and Gibson are better made than Audition, Harmony, and Silvertones. As much as I cant stand them, Ibanez’s are alright….it doesnt matter what brand it is….in there own way…all guitars are good. As for getting a cheap guitar, then working your way up…..I would have to say, no. Again, get what YOU want…..if that means you have to save up for years to afford the K.B. Pro Pinnaka 441 (24K Gold guitar with emeralds, rubies, diamond inlays and wireless electronics….all for $138,943.38)….if you can find one, (they made 8) go for it. Or if its the pawn shop special, (Silvertone….thing….with an amp in the case for about $100) go for it. But taking tips and stuff probably isnt a bad idea, like…Martin guitars, at first