Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #43723


    Cool to see info coming up on the web about J’s new release
    Hoping some interviews and more european dates start coming in soon

    Couple finds, you have to scroll down a bit on both links but…


    J Mascis + The Fog ready LP plus UK-only single
    2 September 2002

    J Mascis, of Dinosaur Jr fame, returned in 2000 with an album under the name J Mascis + The Fog featuring guest appearances by, among others, Robert Pollard of Guided By Voices and Kevin Shields, ex My Bloody Valentine. Berlin’s City Slang Records has revealed that at the end of the month they’ll release a UK-only 7" single with A-side Everybody Lets Me Down, to be followed on 14 October with the full length Free So Free. Back in the USA, Culver City, California’s Ultimatum Music releases Free So Free on 8 October.
    City Slang claims the production quality on the new self-produced disc is much better than on 2000’s More Light, also self-produced, which for all its energy comes across as a bit muddy. Check our link (below) for a full-length MP3 of new song Tell The Truth.
    Tracks on Free So Free will be Freedom, If That’s How It’s Going To Be, Set Us Free, Bobbin, Free So Free, Tell The Truth, Someone Said, Everybody Lets Me Down, Say The Word, and Outside.
    Mascis has been touring in Europe, and has posted some solo dates for this and next month in the UK and the US. They are

    11 – Deventer (Club Lek)
    13 – London (The Metro)

    9 – Cambridge, MA (TT The Bear’s)
    10 – Northampton, MA (Pearl Street)
    11 – Philadelphia (North Star)
    12 – Brooklyn (North Six)
    16 – Pittsburgh (Rosebud)
    17 – Detroit (Magic Stick)
    18 – Cleveland (Grog Shop)
    23 – Portland, OR (Blackbird)
    24 – Seattle (Tractor Tavern)
    25 – San Francisco (Bottom Of The Hill)
    26 – Los Angeles (The Roxy)
    | J Mascis + The Fog | | J Mascis on City Slang | | J Mascis on Ultimatum Music | | Tell The Truth (full length MP3) | | top of page |

    Uberslacker & Marshall Stacker
    J Mascis Offers Free Album in October
    Oddly, not a Soup Dragons cover in the bunch
    Will Bryant reports:
    Ãœberslacker and Marshall stacker J Mascis returns with his second post-Dinosaur Jr. offering, Free So Free, October 8th on Ultimatum Records. With song titles like "Freedom," "Set Us Free," and "Free So Free," you’d think the label would cut us a break on the price for Mascis’ follow-up to 2000’s More Light, but nope– it lists for $15.98. I guess that’s the new economy for ya. The press materials for the album promise a "concept album" full of "zigzagging guitar solos and pure melody." Free So Free was recorded in Mascis’ own Amherst, MA studio with the revolving cast of shady characters known as The Fog. Tracklist:

    01 Freedom
    02 If That’s How It’s Going To Be
    03 Set Us Free
    04 Bobbin
    05 Free So Free
    06 Tell The Truth
    07 Someone Said
    08 Everybody Lets Me Down
    09 Say The Word
    10 Outside

    Mascis has mapped out a short tour to support the record in October. As is apropos for an artist whose songs are virtually non-stop solos, he’s leaving The Fog at home and performing his new material all by his lonesome. Tour dates:

    10-09 Boston, MA – TT The Bears
    10-10 Northampton, MA – Iron Horse
    10-11 Philadelphia, PA – North Star Bar
    10-12 Brooklyn, NY – North Six
    10-16 Pittsburgh, PA – Rosebud
    10-17 Detroit, MI – Magic Stick
    10-18 Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop
    10-23 Portland, OR – Blackbird
    10-24 Seattle, WA – Tractor Tavern
    10-25 San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
    10-26 Los Angeles, CA – The Roxy


Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.