Home Forums Dinosaur Related Discussions Dinosaur/J News & Discussions I need some help, what kind of record player should i get?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    jade88
    Participant

I’m new to vinyl, but i’ve always heard great things about the sound quality of them. So i’m finally looking to get myself a record player or turntable, any suggestions or comments would be great!

essgee09
    Participant

My turntable is a Sony ps-lx250h.I`ve had it for several years and had no trouble with it.New vinyl can be more expensive than cd`s but hey they`re alot cooler than cd`s.Digging around for old vinyl is fun,you never know what might turn up.

jeremiah
    jeremiah
    Keymaster

I picked up a cheap Vibe USB turntable from a deal site a few months back just to make ripping tunes easier but avoid that one.
    On the new bonus 7″ the turntable stops as the arm gets to the last 15 seconds or so of the songs because there is apparently a trigger point there. Very annoying.
    Other than that I have an old Pioneer so I’ll be interested in what you get.

That sony that @essgee09 has some good reviews at Amazon too so one looks promising. May have to look into upgrading myself

jaashworth
    Participant

I decided to make the jump back to vinyl about a year ago, and I have this turntable that I ordered from Amazon:
    http://www.amazon.com/Technica-AT-LP60-Automatic-Driven-Turntable/dp/B002GYTPAE/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1348260285&sr=1-1

I have it running through an older Kenwood receiver that I had retired to my office since it doesn’t do surround sound, and I absolutely love the way it all sounds. I’m sure there are better turntables out there, but I have no problem recommending this one for a not-too-expensive first turntable.

King Tubby
    Participant