Home Forums Musicians & D.I.Y. Artists Guitar Room Acoustic Guitars

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

sappy
    Participant

Where can i get a descent White acoustic guitar for about £200? What acoustic guitars are the best? Gibson?

alan ciccone
    Participant

it really depends on personal prefernce i like gibson acoustics and if u look around u should find a decent affordable one….i tink martin are the best but theyre damm expensive

rosa
    Participant

Hey there Sappy,

I’m no expert, but I am with Tony; Takamines are reasonably priced, super-easy to play and they sound shweeeet….can be a little tinny, but thicker strings can usually remedy that. The Takamines also have a really unique shape that I haven’t seen in other makes; really comfortable to hold sitting down or standing. Lots of females that I know prefer them for their shape (but I’m assuming you’re a guy, so you don’t have to worry about the boob factor [img]images/smiles/icon_wink.gif[/img] )

Also keep in mind that the tactile appeal of acoustics can be adjusted by switching the strings. I play a Gibson; they do feel rather thick at first, but I use phosphor bronze strings which makes the sound & action a lot more crisp.

But as with any product, individual taste varies; you really gotta just dedicate an afternoon to going to the store and trying out as many as you can get your hands on. You can find decent guitars for a couple hundred here in the States; shouldn’t be too hard where you are either.

Good luck,
    Rosa

Randy Jane
    Participant

I like my Martin! I also like my (girl) friends Jewel sig Taylor…plays really nice and was surely a billion bucks, but my Martin is a Shenandoah (80’s Martin Squier basically….but better than that sounds!) D-28-32. Its kind of hard to play, I like that though. Carlo Robelli or whatever makes some cool looking guitars i think…look on Ebay for those.

rosa
    Participant

Hey Tony,